6 Responses to Field Notes From a Hidden City by Esther Woolfson

  1. JacquiWine says:

    Lovely review, Belinda. It does sound excellent, one of those books that makes you look at the natural world with a fresh perspective. I should try to make a little more time for some of the new nature writing that has emerged in recent years..

    • bookbii says:

      It is hard to fit everything in, isn’t it. There is some amazing non-fiction out there, especially in the nature genre. The Outrun is especially good, not just nature but memoir (similar to H is for Hawk in some respects). Kathleen Jamie is also excellent. Finding the time is not so easy though.

      • JacquiWine says:

        Yes, Kathleen Jamie is the one really want to read. I’ve been keeping an eye out for one of her collections in the charity shops…no luck so far!

      • bookbii says:

        Those really good books never turn up at the charity shop, so frustrating. I spent ages trying to find the really good Woolfs (To the Lighthouse, specifically) in charity shops and they simply don’t turn up. Mrs. Dalloway more abundant. I have Findings but not Sightlines. I will likely buy Sightlines soon (I’ve almost bought it 2 or 3 times this year already).

  2. This sounds great, Belinda. I bought Meadowland last year which also takes the form of a diary and while I’d hoped to love it, it turned out to be far too self-consciously literary for me. Field Notes from a Hidden City sounds much more up my street, and you can show me gratuitous bunny pictures anytime you like!

Leave a Reply

