12 Responses to The Living Mountain by Nan Shepherd

  1. Funny you should mention Buddhism – the reading breakthrough you describe is rather like the kind I’ve occasionally experienced in meditation. I haven’t practiced for some years now but I remember that feeling well.

    • bookbii says:

      Thanks Susan. This definitely has a meditative quality to it, as does the reading more slowly. Sometimes you’re just not in the right frame of mind! Meditation is good, I like to meditate but rarely get the time (though I culd surely make the time).

  2. JacquiWine says:

    This does indeed sound like a meditative read, a few moments of calm in a hectic world. My grandfather was a big fan of nature writing, and I’m pretty sure he would have read this book at some point in his life – well, I’d like to think so. Beautiful review as ever, Belinda.

    • bookbii says:

      If he enjoyed nature writing, I hope he did come across this lovely little book. It is brief but very lovely. I suspect I’ll come across some other books your grandfather may have read too, over the course of the next few months. There’s something very satisfying in books about the natural world.

  3. Anneontheshelf says:

    Thank you for this. I came to Nan Shepherd through Robert Macfarlane and much enjoyed her too.Recommend any of Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and JA Baker’s Peregrine if you ever want a further foray into the natural writing genre.

    • bookbii says:

      Thanks Anne. I’ve read Holloway by MacFarlane and have Landmarks sitting on the shelf, likely a read for me this year. Haven’t read either Deakin or Baker but will add them to my list, thanks 🙂

  4. SimplyMe says:

    I am so enjoying your new approach to reading as reflected in your recent book reviews. I have put in an inter-library request for The Living Mountain and also currently have two Jenny Diski books on my shelf to read.You have enriched my life and I am grateful. It appears also that your challenge is enriching your own life, as well. All the best to you.

    • bookbii says:

      Thanks Jan, you’ve definitely inspired me along the way. Which Jenny Diskis books do you have to read? I’ve never read any of her fiction, but would like to at some point. I definitely feel like the challenge is benefiting me, I feel a lot clearer-headed and I have more time to think and reflect which is enriching the reading experiences. All the best to you too.

      • SimplyMe says:

        I am reading A View from the Bed (essays) and then I’ll turn to Stranger on a Train (travel non-fiction), both by Diski. Looking forward to your next blog.

  5. 1streading says:

    Interesting you mention the Buddhist undertones as they are very present in Neil Gunn’s work as well. Last week I heard a discussion on Radio Scotland of Nan Shepherd’s novel The Weatherhouse which has just been reprinted – reviewers spoke about initial difficulties and then a sudden fluency towards the end – not unlike your own experience!

    • bookbii says:

      Yes I believe Gunn and Shepherd explored buddhism together and that this influenced both their works. I’m not sure my initial difficulties were the fault of the work, when I read this last time it didn’t seem to be a problem to read it at all. It’s nice to see Shepherd rising as a cultural icon (isn’t she on the Scottish £5 note?) given that she seems to have so much to offer.

  6. Pingback: Reading more slowly: the first month | biisbooks

Leave a Reply

