8 Responses to A Woman in the Polar Night by Christiane Ritter (translated by Lawrence Millman)

  1. I love this book, read it only once, but will definitely read it again. My top read for 2016!

    • bookbii says:

      It’s just beautiful isn’t it Valorie. Such a surprisingly wonderful find, and a shame it isn’t more widely known and read. To me it’s a classic, up there with the In Patagonias and Snow Leopards but not anywhere near as well known.

  2. Thia sounds a beautiful book, Belinda. Wise counsel just to carry with you thin things that matter.

    • bookbii says:

      It is a gorgeous book Susan, well worth reading more than once. Ritter lived a long, happy life forever buoyed by her Arctic experience. Quite an example.

  3. 1streading says:

    I hadn’t heard of this book (but then I don’t read much non-fiction).
    There is something very tempting in getting away from everything (as long as you are healthy, of course).

  4. SimplyMe says:

    I loved this book when I first read it and again, your blog was the source of my knowing Ritter’s writing existed. Reading your second review of this book was such a positive experience for me; simply witnessing another’s growth in insight is a pleasure.

  5. Pingback: Reading more slowly: the first month | biisbooks

Leave a Reply

