7 Responses to Men We Reaped by Jesmyn Ward

  1. This sounds like a powerful read, Belinda, and beautifully expressed.

    • bookbii says:

      It’s an excellent book Susan, and there are times when it’s so lyrical I feel like I can hear Ward saying the words, though I’ve never heard her speak, of course. Definitely glad I decided to pick it up.

  2. JacquiWine says:

    It does sound like a timely read, Belinda. The quality of the writing shines through in those passages you’ve quoted, the last one in particular. A very moving review.

  3. SimplyMe says:

    This review and the earlier one on the Eula Biss’ book touched me deeply. My training is in law with a focus on human rights. I found initially that I could not respond easily to your past two book reviews simply because I did not know how to speak briefly regarding such a critical topic. I think listening well and reading the stories of others with an open mind and heart are radical acts. By radical in this sentence I intend the original Latin meaning of the word, viz., radix (L.), root. At the root, in my experience, there is a paradox: (1) we are all connected and (2) our differences matter.
    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, Belinda. In doing so, you are telling your story (as well as those of the authors and the books you review) and I and others benefit.

    • bookbii says:

      Thanks Jan 🙂 I agree it’s very difficult to write succinctly on the subject and to maintain the right level of nuance (though your observation that (1) we are all connected and (2) our differences matter is very perceptive) and I was wary, too, of that in my review. Particularly this one. And if it were easy I guess there would be little for Biss and Ward to write about, which is a positive. Sometimes something beautiful comes through suffering, though it is always preferable that the suffering is avoided. As you say, it’s a strange dichotomy, not easily expressed. Thanks, as always, for your very considered comments. I always appreciate your insights.

  4. SimplyMe says:

    “Sometimes something beautiful comes through suffering, though it is always preferable that the suffering is avoided.” I couldn’t agree more. Simplifying greatly, if I had to identify one factor that would reduce suffering it would be alleviation of poverty. This implies a radically different agenda in distribution of wealth, a point you made regarding Grenfell Tower.

Leave a Reply

